top of page

Spoil Me Sunday?

Hey lovely loves!

So today I am going to give you two recipes that I made this past week. I am so excited to give them to you because they took me to good places in my heart. Isn’t that what cooking is really about, anyway?

So, the first recipe I made is Baked Blueberry Donuts {you can see the photos on Instagram if you can't wait until Sunday's when I post them}. When I made these donuts, in my mind I was taken back to the farm where my husband grew up. That's exactly where the blueberries came from, so it was easy to imagine this. I had this picture of Heab's grandmother (we call her, Granny), she was bagging the blueberries up for my husband. I can picture her smile, and hear her sweet voice as she's packing up the blueberries; I could smell the aroma of something baking for her family in her tiny kitchen. It was almost a tearing up moment for me, because they live many hours away from us.

As they were baking in my tiny RV oven, I could almost eat the dough. It was quite amazing. I'm sure you're wanting the recipe by now, so here it is...

1 and 1/3 cup all purpose flour, sifted

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 large egg

1/2 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup whole milk ( I used 2% Lactaid)

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Instructions::

1. Preheat oven to 350°F and grease donut pan.

2. In a medium sized bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside, you're going to add the wet ingredients in a moment.

3. In another medium bowl, whisk together egg and sugar. Then add milk, oil, and vanilla extract; mixing with a whisk until well combined. 4. Gently stir in the wet ingredients to the dry, whisking until there are no lumps.

5. Carefully fill each donut indention of your donut pan 3/4 full. [I use a silicone donut pan]

6. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the donut comes out clean. Place donuts on a cooling rack and cool completely.

I don't have a cooling rack, and I will not buy one just for a donut recipe. So, I use what I have on hand... non-stick foil. I place the donuts on the non-stick side of the foil, as you can see pictured.

How beautiful is that!? I overfilled the donut pans a little, which is why it has a little platform on the bottom. oops. I had to make my powdered sugar from scratch as well, I like to know what I am putting in/on my food. So, all you do with that, is put a 1 Tbsp of Corn Starch to 1 Cup of granulated sugar. I use a food processor to make the process go a little quicker. See photo below.

Here is the finished look, after I made the glaze. I added a little more vanilla than usual for my glaze. If you don't know how to make basic glaze for donuts, click here.

 

Now, for the next recipe. Garlic & Basil Naan. Naan is a native type of flatbread. I was always curious how my best friend in Arizona (who is a full Navajo native) made her bread. We had it about a year ago, and I was hooked! When I made this bread, I kept thinking back to how her kitchen smelled while making it. Divine. I wanted to continue eating them as she finished them! LOL. She would probably agree that I was all about the bread! {What can I say, I'm a carb lover} ... Anyway, follow this recipe if you like, or you can make your own version by taking out the garlic or whichever.

Doesn’t this look delicious!?

Now, I will tell you that my version of this bread here, is NOT the same recipe that I found. I edited a few things, and it goes really good with just about everything [we had it with breakfast last night]. With this specific recipe of Naan, it goes wonderfully with my favorite marinara sauce! It was so scrumptious!

Heab ate all but two! I make my break kind of small. So, it made only about 10 flatbreads. Here's the recipe.

2 C. all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling

1 tsp. salt ( I used garlic salt, because I was making a garlic bread)

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. canola oil (if use a strong flavored oil it will change the taste of the bread)

3/4 cup milk ( I used 2% Lactaid)

2 Tbsp. dried basil, or 10-12 leaves of Fresh basil, chopped

1 Tbsp. of dried minced garlic or freshly chopped garlic

Instructions::

Put the dry ingredients, and herbs into a medium bowl, and whisk together until fine.

Put the wet ingredients into a mason jar, and microwave for about 30-40 seconds. You want it to be a little warmer than, for lack of a better term, body temp.

Then, slowly mix the wet ingredients into the dry while stirring.

After your ingredients are incorporated, knead the dough. You want to form into a ball [see photo below].

After you formed the dough into a large ball, cover with plastic wrap, and let it rest for 20 minutes.

Once it has finished resting, make the dough into smaller balls. Let it rest again, for another 10 minutes.

After that, you will want to roll out each little ball of dough into flat bread.

Lastly, you need to place the raw flatbread into a medium skillet set on med-hi heat. Bubbles should form on the bread, if the skillet is on the correct temperature. When you are done cooking the flatbread, it should like the photo below.

Here is the finished look, after I dressed the plate to make it pretty just for you guys! ;)

Now that I have given you two amazing recipes, I can't wait for you to try them!

Be sure to let me know how you like them, I get so excited hearing about how the recipes turned out- as well as how you fix them to your liking! If you would like to follow me on Instagram, my tag to follow is @heabsarmywife ... I normally post photos as the product is concluding. I hope you all have a great work week!

Remember to love others, and be kind. Everyone is fighting some kind of battle.

**Donut recipe adapted from www.cookiescupcakesandcardio.com

**Naan recipe adapted from www.foodista.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page